Racing Post – Fact File: The July Cup

Video from Racing Post. The July Cup is a Group 1 flat horse race in Great Britain open to horses aged three years or older.

It is run on the July Course at Newmarket over a distance of 6 furlongs (1,207 metres), and it is scheduled to take place each year in July.

It is one of Britain’s most valuable and prestigious sprint races, and many of its winners have been acknowledged as the champion sprinter in Europe.

The present system of race grading was introduced in 1971, and the July Cup was initially classed at Group 2 level. It was promoted to Group 1 status in 1978.

The July Cup became part of the Global Sprint Challenge in 2008.

It is now the sixth leg of the series, preceded by the Diamond Jubilee Stakes and followed by the Sprinters Stakes.

The race is currently held on the final day of Newmarket’s three-day July Festival meeting.

Charles Morton and Vincent O’Brien are the leading trainers in the race with 5 wins

Vincent O’Brien won it with Thatch (1973), Saritamer (1974), Solinus (1978), Thatching (1979), Royal Academy (1990)

The leading Jockey is Lester Pigott with 10 wins in the race

Download the Racing Post app:
View Racing Post betting offers:

18+ Gamble Responsibly

Subscribe on YouTube:
Apple Podcasts:
Google Podcasts: